No frills attached

The kind people at Simplicity sent me a pattern Simplicity New Look – 6003, the Misses’ skirt. The skirt comes in three lengths with a diverse peplum variation to flatter any shape. Like most New Look patterns by Simplicity, I found the pattern simple to follow, easy to cut and adjust, and assembling was straight forward with no unpicking. All-in-all the skirt took me roughly 3 evenings to complete; say 5 hours of work in total. Next time shouldn’t take as long as the first. The pattern has three peplum variations and three versions without. I opted for pattern B, a straight skirt with a neat curved top stitched peplum. I particularly like the fold over element on the front. It seems the more flatter peplum of the selection. What would I change next time? As you can see I used a solid black for the peplum and a black and white small floral print for the actual skirt. I’m not sure this combo works as well as an all in one print. I plan to make a few more so my next one will be all in the same print.

Some peplum facts: The peplum made a big impact in the Spring/Summer 2012. Peplum style was very popular in the 1940’s and 1980’s and died out in the 1990’s, until making it’s come back in 2012. It’s continued to feature heavily on the catwalk this year and is still a common high street trend. At first I wasn’t certain whether they were flattering or not. Or just a clever piece of dressmaking to disguise.

That’s a smudge on the mirror, not on my skirt.

Leave a Reply

